The Case of the Missing Blu-Ray Lightning McQueen

Well, there is a big discussion going on right now in the Cars collectors community. On November 4, 2007, I wrote about the Cars Blu-Ray movie coming out and the promotion for the Blu-Ray Lightning McQueen that was included with it.

To recap, 15,000 Blu-Ray McQueens were made. To get them, you needed a code, which you had to buy the movie to get. To redeem it, you went DisneyMovieRewards.com and signed up and entered your code. I did not participate because it wasn’t an exclusive I had to have, and I did not want to buy a whole movie I already had to get it. Plus, I don’t have a Blu-Ray player.

I wasn’t aware of any problems with this until recently. Apparently, the program has been royally botched to the point that people are receiving multiple Cars they didn’t order and some that placed orders and had order confirmations never received them. The image of a room full of monkeys getting the envelopes and then stuffing boxes full of Blu-Ray McQueens and mailing them comes to mind here. To make matters worse, there are 65 Blu Ray Lightning McQueens for sale on eBay right now.

I am wary of mail-away offers due my frequent bad luck with Hasbro Mail Away offers. Years ago I entered a GI Joe mail away offer, and never received the figure I sent away for. I wrote them and later received 2 figures, when I only sent for one to begin with. Not long after that, I sent away for another GI Joe figure on a different offer. This time I sent for 2. I never received them, while other collectors received multiples they did not order. I wrote to Hasbro again, and they stated that a third party was handling the orders and distribution for the mail away and that there was nothing they could do. I had better luck with the last Star Wars mail away I entered, actually receiving that one. So I have learned from experience that you need to watch out.

To be fair to Disney, they clearly state that the offer is only “while supplies last” and expired at the end of January. Plus, this was a very limited product. I am willing to bet that those that bought one DVD and sent in the code within the first few weeks of the offer had no problems getting one. I don’t know anyone personally that participated, so I can’t say for sure that is the case. It’s just my guess. I’m also willing to bet that if you waited around awhile to redeem your offer or redeemed multiple offers, you ran the risk of missing out.

My guess is that Disney is using a third party for fulfillment of the offers. I know that it sucks if you bought a DVD and did not get the Car, but there is most likely nothing you can do in this case, except BEWARE the next time you enter one.

I want to hear from those who participated in the Blu-Ray McQueen offer. If you sent away for the Car and either received it or didn’t, please let us know in the comments.

1 comment so far

  1. William Ahrens on

    I purchased Cars on Blu-Ray, immediately submitted the code, and received the special edition Lightning McQueen surprisingly quickly.


Leave a Reply

